Break The Taboo – Constipation Conversations

The word “Constipation” sounds odd or embarrassing for many of them or maybe ridiculous for some of them but suffering in silence is even more worst.

A serious problem but embarrassment ceases us to talk about it openly. I have seen lots of healthcare topics discussed on social media platforms but bowel movements aren’t one of them. We all understand, it is odd but keeping silent can cause major health issues.

WHAT’s EXACTLY CONSTIPATON :-

A condition where the body feels discomfort to pass stools, hard mornings, usually painful stools or infrequent toilet trips. Sometimes, crampy pains also occurs in the lower part of your tummy (abdomen) which may make you feel bloated and sick.

Being constipated means you are emptying your bowels 2-3 times in whole week.

I was a Constipated Sufferer :-  4 years ago, I delivered a cute boy, the delivery was normal, I was slightly uncomfortable using hospital toilet to expel the motions, also ignored the urge to empty the bowel due to stitches and bruises thinking that it’s just a matter of 2 days and once I go back home I’ll be absolutely fine but my digestive system played a drama with me for straight 30 days. Now, being a first-time mom I was more anxious and worried about taking care of the new born plus learning all about timely feeding the infant, so wasn’t so serious about this and even didn’t bother to discuss this sensitive topic with anybody in the family too because again that Indian culture, gender stuffs and shyness made me hesistant to talk about it. I was able to empty my bowel movement only twice in a week with the feeling of incompleteness, after 15 days I was exhausted, spent sleepless nights and restless days, I avoided eating, after bearing all that 9 months pregnancy pain, labour pain, delivery pain and now pain of difficulty in passing stools.

I said, Oh God, why me? Are you upset with me or am I passing any stage of Karma? Don’t you think I should get some relief ? This apprehensive feeling and certain flow of questions in my mind affected my psychological behaviour, my husband noticed these temporary changes and asked me, why are you taking so much strain you are blessed to be a Mother. Feel proud about it. I explained him what I am going through, he immediately booked my appointment with my Gynecologist she prescribed Comfort-coated tablets for gentle, predictable constipation relief and discussed friendly all  Do’s and Dont’s which I followed from the very next day.

With Proper Intake of Fluids and Fruits, Body Movements, normal walk of 30 mins, slowly and steadily, my digestion system was back on track and I was the most happiest person on this earth.

Shared the above personal experience because I don’t want my readers to face any kind of Constipation issues or irregularity.

 

PREVENT CONSTIPATION

A) DO’s

1.Water/Fluids – Drink plenty of water and healthy drinks. Keep your body hydrated. Drink enough water as well as increasing the daily intake consistently will reduce or stop chronic cases.

2. Proper Exercise  – The effective and important home remedy is regular exercise as sluggish body is equal to sluggish bowels. One must understand that Movement of Body will encourage good bowel movements. Yoga is also a good way to ease those digestion complaints.

3. Fibre-Rich Food – Eating right kind of food is one of the best and natural way of reduce constipation. One must aim to consume 18g to 30g of fibre in a day. Adding leafy vegetables, more fruits, nuts and seeds to your daily diet is an advantage.

4. Toilets – Also, it has been noticed that the number of constipated people is higher among those who uses western toilet. To attend this Nature’s call, the squatting posture is the perfect one. Scientifically, Indian Toilets (Traditonal) was effective for healthy bowel movements.

While using Western Toilet, make sure you sit in the right posture, Remember to use a footrest and to lean forward when you sit.

consti

Know more – http://www.constipasana.com/

B) DONT’s

  1. Ditch anything White – Rice, Bread, Cheese, Noodles, Junk food , unhealthy lifestyle. Switch to Brown with adequate sleep.
  2. Stress is also common and often overlooked. Every body needs periods of relaxation to function properly.
  3. Don’t wait or ignore this condition until it goes chronic. Consulting doctor in early stage definitely resolves and brings the things back on track.

“In India, Constipation is often considered a taboo and people are hesitant to talk about it. In general, people try out multiple self-medication or home remedies options and come to a doctor only after it becomes chronic,”

As per the recent survey found 14% of people in urban India suffer from chronic constipation wherein the city of Mumbai with 19% of people suffering from the problem

In Mumbai, 80% of those who complained of chronic constipation said it leads to other medical problems/complications like piles and haemorrhoids, ulcers, abdominal pain and anal fissures

Half of the Constipated people are not concerned about this serious issue even though it affected their physical and psychological health. Irritation and anxiety were the biggest problems faced by people in Mumbai with the lack of interest in work, mood swings and embarrassment.

At this need of the hour,  we must change our perception and thinking, breaking the taboo to stay forever healthier and fitter.

 

 

Disclaimer :-  I attended a panel discussion on constipation awareness facilitated by Abbott India Limited. Any opinion expressed in this blog is my personal opinion and not the opinion of Abbott India Limited. Abbott India Limited does not assume any liability for the content of the blog. The blog post is not meant to be a replacement for a doctor consultation, nor is it a medical recommendation or prescription of treatment for people having constipation problems. Any reader of this blog suffering from constipation problems should specifically consult his/her doctor for the same and follow the suggested course of treatment.

Leave a Reply

